Zatik Skincare – Moisturizer Review

I’ve been looking out for affordable cruelty free skincare with good ingredients for quite some time. With sensitive combination skin that breaks out easily, finding products that are gentle yet do the job, without potent fragrances. I’m always hesitant to pay for expensive products I haven’t heard much about, in local health stores or online.

I decided to check TK Maxx for cruelty free products, as they usually stock something that is suitable for vegans. Scrutinizing every brand, I came across Zatik. A brand with facial oils and moisturisers marketed towards different skin types and not just one product suits all. This particular product Rose Neroli Blossom is for combination skin, while others were geared toward dry to normal skin types.

The small company’s story and ethics drew me in. The raw skincare products are created by a couple from California, they make all of their products using botanical extracts and cold pressed seed oils, all of which are organic. Their skincare range is free from harsh chemicals and preservatives. And the name? ‘Zatik’ is Armenian for Ladybug. Controlling the population of unwanted insects on plants without the use of insecticides, Ladybugs mean safer, healthier crops and in this case skincare!

The packaging of this product get 5 stars from me. The box itself is simple but beautiful. It is well labelled and the small touches really make a big difference, even down the the soya ink used in printing. As a buyer, it feels great to not only spend money on a product that does not test on animals but also factors in environment means to cut down on waste by using recycled materials. I was nervous to open the box incase I found a flimsy, plastic bottle but to my surprise, found a beautiful frosted glass bottle with a pump. The pump itself is narrow which is great for hygiene and stops too much product coming out at once. The glass itself in made from 70% recycled materials.

zatik bottle

 

zatik 4

As for the product, it is the perfect moisturiser for combination / oily skin. It is recommended to use 1-2 pumps. It is very runny, unlike the majority of high street products that are filled with pore clogging oils, this is not heavy. Once applied to the face it absorbs in and immediately hydrates and replenishes the skin. I’m not a fan of sticky moisturisers that leave a greasy, tacky barrier over the face so this is perfect.

The scent is very mild and natural, to me it smells like oats. It does not irritate my sensitive skin and  works great under makeup and as a night moisturiser. Overall I give this product my stamp of approval, I will definitely repurchase if I can get my hands on it again. The family company is based in California, as far as UK and Irish stockists I’m still unsure. For now this retails in TK Maxx for €9.99, usual retail price €20.99.

 

Link to Zatik’s website:  http://zatiknatural.com/

TK Maxx limited Zatik stock:  http://www.tkmaxx.com/page/search?q=zatik

 

 

Leave a Reply

